Simple, Fresh, Daily Make Up

IMG_5167

 

When I was a teen I wore make up daily. I always went for a good eyeliner , masacara and every once in awhile a fun eye shadow.  As I have gotten older and my skin has changed (thanks to my pregnancies) things have changed for me quite a bit.

My struggles:

  1. My skin tone is one of the hardest to match. Also I’m much lighter in the winter and much darker in the summer.
  2. Most make up irritates my skin or is way too heavy on my skin. Because of this I can’t use powder and only use liquid. But liquid make up is harder to find in my skin tone.
  3. Mascara can break out my eyes. I have small thin lashes so everything always clumps way too much!
  4. My lips. Oh my! They are full and round so only certian colors don’t make me look like a clown and match perfectly with the color of my skin. Gloss makes them look twice as big and when you mix gloss with color well then my lips transform into balloons.

So as you can see this is one of the reason I am not a fan of make up. It takes alot of work just to find what works for me and well I’ve wasted alot money over the years. And there has been plenty of make up thrown in the trash. Whats the point of keeping it when it doesn’t work?

It’s been 6 years since my last make up haul from Sephora and Mary Kay. It was the month of my wedding and I wanted to splurge. Now after my 6th baby I am in need of another one. Just to treat myself. After all no one and I mean no one should be wearing make up thats 6 years old… No wonder my face started breaking out. Huhhhh.

IMG_5097

I am normally a Covergirl… girl. But I thought I should try something different for once. And my last purchase of foundation was through Mary Kay (way over priced by the way) and I just was not interested in paying for something I knew I would not use often. Eventually I will have to replace my make up once again. One day ……down by the river in a van… I was reading my Redbook magazine and I came across this new foundation by Maybaline New York:  Fit Me! Matte +Poreless. So I decided to check it out.

What I love about this foundation.

 ♥♥  For one it matches my skin tone PERFECTLY. It’s Matte, which means I wont look super shiny! I am sure shine looks good on some of yall but it just makes me look greasy. Gross. So I love the matte. It looks more natural on me as well. Which is always my main goal. The foundation doesn’t irritate my skin and when dry, does not rub off so easily. No stains on me! Yay.  So make sure you have some kind of make up removal wipes to clean it off well. It is also thin. So you can easily add more without feeling weighed down. Honestly a thin layer is good enough for me but I have put it on thicker and it has even more coverage without feeling thick. My skin is still able to breath!

This one is a keeper! As long as they keep making it. I will keep buying it!

 

IMG_5087

For my lips I figured why not try another matte? I saw this also in my Redbook mag and went to hunt down a color that was right for me. I always look great in a soft pink. What I love about this Melting Pout Matte:

♥  It’s light weight, thin and the color is on point. But oh snap! I have one small compliant, it is D.R.Y. I tried but a base of chap stick on then applying this but that made it a weird texture. So then I tried to mix it with my Covergirl Fruit Spritzer (which is ancient they don’t even sell them anymore), and that changed the color and took away that matte finish.

I love the Matte look but I will be shopping for another one because this one is way too dry.

 

IMG_5643

As I mentioned above I have been through different types of masacara because of breaking out. So I was a little worried when trying a new one.  I did a ton of research reading reviews on different ones before making my choice. In the end I went again with Mabaline New York and picked up their Lash Sensational.

What I love about it:

It plumps up my teeny tiny lashes, and it has not broken me out at all yet. It applies evenly with no clumps. BUT its a little thick and this is the first mascara that I have ever had to fan my eyes to get it to dry quickly. I think I am going to stick with Maybaline though since it’s the first mascara that has not broken me out. I will just be trying different ones to find my absolute favorite.

All in all I still loved the way everything looked on me and have worn this easy make up look countless times in the last month.

This was my first make up review guys!!!! I hope you liked it. I will probably doing another one in the future since I wasn’t a 100% in love with the lip matte and mascara.  And I still have to hunt down a good eye shadow palette. More beauty posts to come so stay tuned!

 

Leave a comment